Ah, St. Patrick’s Day. An excuse to pinch innocent people and drink a little too much on a weeknight. But for gluten-free folks, the prospect of bottomless beers doesn’t exactly sound appetizing.
Now before you freak out, yes, we know: There are some really solid gluten-free beers out there. No question. But who’s to say whether you’ll be able to just order one at your local pub. Never fear! You don’t have to sit the holiday out! Instead, order one of these incredible gluten-free Irish drinks* that will have anyone, gluten-free or not, faking that accent in no time. And even if you’re staying in this St. Patty’s Day, no worries – these are a cinch to make.
You’ll only be angry if someone tries to take it away from you.
2. Irish Pride
Unassuming but classic. Like the Irish, amiright?
Full disclosure: the author of this post is very Irish.
3. Irish Eyes
Like dessert, but with booze.
As with all flavored alcohols, make sure the creme de menthe is gluten-free. You’re usually pretty safe because the alcohol in it is still distilled, but better to be extra safe than extra sorry.
4. Irish Flag
The different ingredients really do layer like this as long as you pour them in the right order. Trippy, huh?
If you’re a little weary of whiskey, this stuff will get you right back into the party.
How do you make milkshakes better? You know the answer.
And the classic:
Don’t mess with the best.
For those of you about to yell in the comments about hard alcohols distilled from wheat, here’s a note from our gluten-free expert KC the G-Free Foodie:
The general opinion from doctors & Celiac specialists is that distilled spirits are Gluten Free, as gluten proteins are left behind in the distillation process. This does not include flavored (Vanilla Vodka, Peach Schnapps) or blended spirits (X-Rated, Blackberry Merlot, Pre-made Margaritas) – you must check those out on a case-by-case basis (you hear us, Appletini drinkers?) And you know the rule at G-Free Foodie: “If you don’t know, then NO” – choose something else if you aren’t absolutely sure your toddy is safe.
Here’s a little more info: The European Food Safety Authority considers distilled alcohol “unlikely to cause a severe reaction” in those with grain allergies and the Canadian Celiac Association allows distilled alcoholic beverages for celiacs even if they’re made with wheat, rye, or barley, since “the distillation process should remove the reaction-causing proteins”. However, the Celiac Sprue Foundation recommends no hard liquor from grains containing gluten during the early phases of a gluten-free diet.
What’s your favorite non-beer gluten-free Irish drink? Tell us in the comments below!