Let’s face it – at the end of the day, sometimes we need a little liquid reward. A glass of wine, a pint of beer, maybe even a fancy cocktail with friends. But if you’re gluten-free, taking a sip of the wrong thing could turn your happy hour into an extremely unhappy hour (and next few days). Luckily there are plenty of ways to avoid gluten without avoiding booze altogether – you just have to be careful about choosing your gluten-free alcohol. Here’s how!
What’s Safe (Naturally Gluten-Free)
Vodka, Tequila and Rum
Flickr user KittyKaht
This is basically anything distilled from something without gluten. Hard stuff like vodka (from potatoes), tequila (from agave), and rum are all safe. There’s no gluten introduced in the process of making them, so you can relax.
HOWEVER: Be very careful about flavorings. That birthday cake-flavored vodka might sound great at your friend’s birthday party, but the additives could contain gluten, making it a big no-no.
What’s Usually Safe
Flickr user Uncalno
Since it’s made from grapes, wine is almost always good to go. However, some methods of fermentation can introduce gluten into the wine, so be careful to check into how the wine is made before downing a glass.
Whiskey and Bourbon
Flickr user ctj71081
Most people consider these two spirits to be gluten-free alcohol, but there is some controversy about whether the distillation process introduces gluten, so if you’re extra sensitive, just make sure that you drink one that’s specifically labeled gluten-free.
Flickr user QuinnDombrowski
Sigh. Such a classic drink, so unsafe for Celiacs. At least, it used to be. Gluten-free beers are getting more and more popular these days, but they’re by no means available everywhere. Don’t even go near it unless it’s specifically brewed without gluten.
Do you have another favorite gluten-free alcohol? Tell us in the comments below!