So, you’ve been invited to fourteen parties and three Holiday Happy Hours, and you’re not sure how to imbibe while staying GF? Here’s the scoop for ordering up your Gluten Free toddy.
The general opinion from doctors & Celiac specialists is that distilled spirits are Gluten Free, as gluten proteins are left behind in the distillation process. This does not include flavored (Vanilla Vodka, Peach Schnapps) or blended spirits (X-Rated, Blackberry Merlot, Pre-made Margaritas) – you must check those out on a case-by-case basis (you hear us, Appletini drinkers?) The rule at G-Free Foodie is: “If you don’t know, then NO” – choose something else if you aren’t absolutely sure your cocktail is safe. It’s easiest to order plain juices like or orange, pineapple or cranberry or sodas as mixers – avoid Bloody Mary Mix, Collins Mix or blender drinks if you aren’t certain of all the ingredients.
Some people are sensitive to other parts of the grain that do survive distillation, so if you find that a certain spirit bothers you, it might be time to switch up your standard order. Liquors distilled from Gluten-containing grains include: some Vodkas, Whiskey & Bourbon.
Here’s a list of safe spirits, with a few notes, of course:
- Fruit brandy – that’s FRUIT brandy, not flavored brandy
- Grand Marnier
- Jägermeister – good news, right? You can still have a Surfer on Acid when you need to revisit college days
- Mead – honey wine
- Port Wine
- Southern Comfort
- Triple Sec
- Wine – not wine coolers or wine drinks, real wine. Read Is Wine Gluten Free? for the details
Cheers to you & your health, Salute! –
Like!! I blog quite often and I genuinely thank you for your information. The article has truly peaked my interest.